ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sun Mar 07, 2021 3:39 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Finished vs Started vs Puppy
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:40 pm 
Utility Grade

Hello All,

This being my virginal post I wanted to start off by saying that, as a longtime lurker, I have learned quite a bit from the knowledgeable folks on this forum. Thanks to everyone for their insight and patience.

Being new to gun dogs and upland hunting I am hesitant to dive straight-in with a puppy (leaning towards a Brittany at the moment).

1.What are the pros and cons of started and finished bird dogs ?

2.What should I expect to pay?

3.What should I look for in a good trainer of started/finished dogs?

Any other insights would be highly appreciated. As a beginner, I appreciate any input so feel free to chime in!

John B.

Post subject: Re: Finished vs Started vs Puppy
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:00 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Dogless,

Pros - You will (hopefully) have a trained dog, and will have avoided any mistakes that you might have made in getting to the same level. You should get a very good hunting companion from the start.

Cons - Much higher cost. A good puppy may cost you anywhere from $600 - $1000. A finished dog could cost you several times these amounts ($2 - 3K or more). Of course training costs, and room/board while you get it to the same level will offset some of this. Much more risk. You could easily get a dog that is a dud that an unscrupulous trainer wanted to get out of their kennel. You will also miss out on the puppy stages and your involvement in the training process.

Also, I do not think I would ever buy a finished dog that I had not had the opportunity to hunt over them, or observe them...hopefully in conditions similar to what they might see with me.