CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 1:49 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 3901 or A300 Outlander?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 3:05 pm 
Utility Grade

I am competent with a handgun but I am new to sport of shotguns. So new that I had not shot one until the day before I went on a company sponsored Skeet shoot. We were hand throwing clays which gave me a pretty good idea. After getting past the nerves in the practice rounds I ended up second during practice and best out of our group on the actual tournament. I must say that now I am hooked. I was using a freind's well worn 11-87. Thanks to the guys on our teams I was fortunate enough to be able to shoot many different types of o/u, pump and semi's. Thanks to the experiences I had from shooting those I decided that the semi-automatic is what I prefered. Learning from previous experiences, I would like to buy from a reputable manufacturer so that I may be able to get parts/service years later without having to interchange brands or mix and match parts due to the company going out of business,.etc.etc.

With that being said I have come to a crossroad. I would like to tap the wealth of knowledge from this site and get some opinions.

Should I buy a 3901 (which I am being told is being phased out) or wait for the new A300 to hit the shelves?

Post subject: Re: 3901 or A300 Outlander?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 6:28 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Some people prefer the feel of the 390/3901 over the feel of the 391 (newer design), but most prefer the 391. I have never had a chance to handle an A300 Outlander, but from what I have heard from our friends in the UK, the Outlander probably feels much more like the 391, maybe even better. It is lighter, slimmer and more graceful than the 3901.

I would wait another month or two and get the Outlander. In fact, I have a standing order for one with my local gun shop.