CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:25 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 7/8 oz Trap Load
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2012 1:16 pm 
Field Grade

I'm new to the reloading business & only started doing it because I have a bad shoulder & need to reduce the recoil. I shoot a Beretta A400 w/ Kickoff system & that really helps (allows me to shoot promo loads) but I also have a Ruger Redlabel O/U that i want to shoot from time to time. I have been using this recipe for a skeet load : Remington STS Hull, 7/8 oz #9 shot, 18 gr clays powder, WAA12L wad & CCI 209 primer. Is there a better load out there that I can use for both trap & skeet or just a good load for trap? Should I be using #8 for trap. I notice on windy days I can't hit anything with the reloads. Thanks & I love this forum.

Post subject: Re: 7/8 oz Trap Load
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:09 am 
Crown Grade

7/8oz is plenty for skeet and 16 yrad trap. If you move back to handicap distances some say you need more lead. International trap (bunker trap) limits load to just under 7/8oz and those targets are way tougher than American trap.

As to shot size, 8's are fine. I prefer 7.5's just cause. A lot of things in reloading are preference oriented.

You might look into trying ClayDot. It's an American made alternative to Clays. Much cheaper and loads using the same loads just different bushings due to differing densities.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:36 am 
Crown Grade

I use the exact same thing except a NS primer, but I don't use it for trap. However I agree, use 7.5's when you load for trap. If you used only one shot size, it would probably be a lot easier to use 7.5's in skeet than 9's in trap. Atleast that has been the case in my experience.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:38 am 
Limited Edition

Hi

I load similar but only 16.5 grs powder. Enough for me and less felt recoil.

Regards

W&W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:50 am 
Field Grade