CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:06 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Sporting clays vs skeet vs trap
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:23 am 
Field Grade

I'm new to the sport and have shot a little of each and enjoyed each venue. It seems that it would be best to focus primarily on one venue. As a rookie, I would appreciate from experts what to consider in terms of where to focus. i don't plan on hunting, I have access to facilities that offer all three types of shooting (as well as other types of shooting), and the costs in terms of shooting are approximately equal. I'm sure there are nuances that one will appreciate over time in each venue, but I would appreciate thoughts on things to consider going forward in terms of where to focus. I have used rental guns and would like to buy one for the right venue, but realize the right gun might be different for each one. So far, I'm leaning toward sporting clays followed by skeet followed by trap. Any insights one gets as they spend more time in each venue in terms of continuing challenges, shortcomings, comraderie, etc. would be appreciated. I suspect there are strong opinions; that is why I am posting on the Shotgun Clay Shooting General forum rather than one for a specific discipline.

Post subject: Re: Sporting clays vs skeet vs trap
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:37 am 
Diamond Grade

Focus on the one you enjoy the most,set up a gun that suits that discipline,get some instruction from one that is qualified to give it........have fun.

Maltz

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 10:15 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Arroyojon wrote:
I'm leaning toward sporting clays...
You have answered your own question.

I'm sure there will be a few along shortly to tell you why one is better than another. None of that matters. What does matter is what you like. After all, you're the one shooting it.

“Endeavor to clear your mind of can't.” - Francis P. Church

Col 4:6