CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:40 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: shooting slugs with a full choke 870
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 7:36 pm 
I am new to shotgunning and recently recieved an 870 wingmaster, the barrel is full choke and I was wondering how it would be for shooting rifled slugs and also buckshot?? What will range and accuracy be like for both rounds???

Post subject: Re: shooting slugs with a full choke 870
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:05 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

You can do it but your accuracy will probably not be very good at all with foster (rifled) slugs. I also wouldn't shoot any of the super hot premium loads in that full barrel.

As for buck shot, you'll just have head to the range and see for yourself.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:09 pm 
Tournament Grade

Well they claim that buckshot and rifled slugs should be shot through a more open choke like say I.C. or maybe even mod. But the only way to find out is to shoot. However I would think your accuracy would not be optimon because you only have a bead to line up. Also about 50 yards is the max I would shoot with that setup slugs and buckshot, maybe 75 (slug) if I feel lucky. However if you want to improve accuracy I would look into a smooth bore barrel with rifle sights, or if you want to increase your range and your accuracy even more get a rifled barrel and shoot sabots. I hope that helps good luck.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:10 pm 
Tournament Grade

man JLP snuck in there before me :( Ohwell. :D

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:47 pm 
ok thanks for the quick reply's.
I can not damage the gun by shooting these with it can I???

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:56 pm 
Diamond Grade

not at all

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:58 pm 
Excuse me for 'buttin in here and altho you didn't ask about this particular subject with your full-choked M870, don't EVER shoot steel shot in that barrel!