CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 5:14 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Benelli for Sporting Clays
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:25 pm 
Utility Grade

I'm just getting into Sporting Clays and would like to know which Benelli would make for a good gun? I'm thinking about getting either an M1 or M2 Field. Any input would be appreciated.

Post subject: Re: Benelli for Sporting Clays
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 9:32 pm 
Crown Grade

If you are just starting in sporting clays, I recommend you hold off on that Benelli. Try a whole lot of guns first, paying attention to recoil and stock adjustments. The Benelli has a reputation of more recoil than a autoloader, but less than an O/U. Not too many Benelli's are seen on sporting clays courses although they have a good reputation for dependability and are easy to clean.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 9:48 pm 
Presentation Grade

SuperSport, definitely. With a light mod choke.

And by the way, semi-autos are really common on the SC course I shoot at. Cory Kruse, the national SC champion, shoots a semi-auto. I recently shot with a bunch of guys in a kind of pick-up group and I was the only one with an over-under.

So Benellis are fine for SC. My wife shoots a Benelli Montefeltro on the sporting clays course and hits targets that guys miss.

<p>

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:50 pm 
Tournament Grade

I have a Super Sport that I've used for Skeet.The recoil is hardly noticeable. It performs wonderfully. What else can I say.I think the Benelli Super Sport is the finest semi that you can buy.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 12:21 am 
I'm quite happy with the SuperSport, but length of pull is limited at the present time to 14 and 14 3/8's inches by changing pads. If one of those lengths works for you, you'll be quite happy with the gun. If on the other hand you need a 15" LOP, it wouldn't be the best choice.
Dave

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 1:42 am 
Utility Grade