CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 2:14 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: CZ Canvasback
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:38 am 
Utility Grade

Well I'm ready to pull the trigger, so to speak.
I am looking at an entry level trap/skeet gun... I know, they don't exist

I do have a Remington 870 for a trap "fallback"....

So I guess I'm saying I'm looking more at a skeet gun

Pretty much have decided to go the CZ route ... Canvasback ... 28" barrel

In that price range, $650.00 (no higher at this point ) ...New.... Seems like a good buy

Comments ?????

Post subject: Re: CZ Canvasback
PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:52 am 
Tournament Grade

I have a Canvasback that I have been using for skeet for a couple years now. Has had over 4000 rounds through it and never once had a problem. The only trouble I have is getting all the misses out of it. LOL.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:55 am 
Crown Grade

Here is the link to a long term reliability test of the CZ Canvasback. This Energizer Bunny of a CZ is well over 20,000 rounds of trouble free service and still going strong. In the Huglu forum there are also numerous examples of what is surely the best customer service in the industry in keeping the CZ customers happy. At that price range, I can't think of a better buy if the gun fits you well.

viewtopic.php?f=137&t=189338

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:06 am 
Crown Grade

Not much to break. Doesn't even have ejectors. If I did go very-low-end (make no mistake, an "entry level" target gun is a different thing and that's not a target gun at all), I'd keep it simple. It's easier to make a very simple gun that won't break down all the time, for $650, than a more complicated one.

Whatever you do, avoid the Mossberg imports. Crap. CZ is probably your best option as others have said.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:12 am 
Utility Grade