CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 12:46 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Cost of reloading
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 5:17 pm 
Utility Grade

I am new to clay sports and I really like them, I am shooting about 800-1200 a month at the moment and its starting to get expensive. I buy 12g estate shells for 5.5 a box this is the cheapest I can find. What exactly is it going to cost me to start reloading per box excluding any one time cost for equipment. I would either get the materials from cabelas or over the Internet and I would load 1oz or 7/8 skeet loads.

Post subject: Re: Cost of reloading
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 5:34 pm 
Crown Grade

Usually,it runs about $4.00 a box depending upon where you buy your components and you don't want to buy them at Cabelas.Powder and primers,have been out of stock,by most suppliers,now and they
currently have a back order list going on.It might be a year before things get back to normal on supply,
oh I assume the Estates at $5.50,was without tax?

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 5:37 pm 
Crown Grade

Just my opinion, but if I were to consider reloading simply to save money I would continue to shoot the Estates. I reload only because I enjoy it. If I save any money that is just a bonus.

Pennsylvania in the Summer
Florida in the Winter

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 5:56 pm 
Utility Grade

Yes without tax, I am trying to keep the cost as low as I can. I like to shoot 8 rounds of skeet at a time and its 7$ range fee where I live + the 5.50 for the shells so its 100$ + tax per trip and it really adds up. If reloading would save only 12$ a trip I am not sure it would be worth it.

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 6:02 pm 
Crown Grade

1200 rounds a month is 48 boxes X $2 savings (if not more) = 1 free trip per month

"Support our troops; we'll need them to overthrow our government"

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 6:02 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*