CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:44 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Need some info about shotgun ammo
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:56 pm 
Utility Grade

I am new with shotguns and don't know the difference in shotgun ammo. I was wondering what dram equiv., oz, and shot means.

Post subject: Re: Need some info about shotgun ammo
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 2:19 pm 
Tournament Grade

I'll take a stab at this... :D

1) DRAM equivalent is a very old-fashioned term. It basically helps you determine what smokeless powder would be equivalent to in black powder. When cartridges switched from black powder to smokeless, people just needed a way to correlate the old and the new.

2) Oz. refers to the ounces of shot (pellets) in that shell. With large sized pellets (see #3 below) you can actually just count them. So, for example, "00 buckshot" typically has nine pellets. But with small shot, it's easier to weigh the shot than to count them all (it's in the hundreds).

3) Shot size (for example: 00, 4, 7 1/2, etc.) refers to the size of the actual pellet itself. The higher the number, the smaller the physical pellet is.

Hope I'm right about all that. If not, someone will be sure to correct me :D

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 3:06 pm 
Presentation Grade

Sander has it right. I would add that most shotgunners wish the dram equivalent would just go away. It's an antiquated way of trying to convey the velocity of the shot; i.e. if X drams of black powder would produce 1200 fps velocity in a particular load, they call it an X dram equivalent load. 1200 feet per second says it all, much more clearly. Why the hell don't the manufacturers stop using dram equivalent?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 3:10 pm 
Utility Grade

Thanks, you guys helped a lot.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 3:14 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Willy,
Let us know what you're shooting at and we'll get you to the correct ammo.