CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 2:57 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 870 flash suppressor question
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:14 pm 
Tournament Grade

I am pretty new to the world of tactical shotguns. I recently purchased a new 870 express magnum, so far I have modified it with a speedfeed forend and a Knoxx Spec-ops Stock. I have seen flash suppressors similar to what you would see on the end of a AR-15 or a M-16 available for shotguns...I am curious if they are worth a damn, do they function or are they just for looks?

For example:
This product is for a Saiga 12 shotgun, but similar to what I am looking for.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:24 am 
Presentation Grade

Kurt_McNugget wrote:
"...I am curious if they are worth a damn, do they function or are they just for looks?..."

I think that putting a flash suppressor on a shotgun would be like using an umbrella in a hurricane (why bother?)...

...that, and it would add a couple or three inches to your barrel length when 'shorter' is generally considered more practical than 'longer' for a tactical shotgun.

Post subject: re: 870 flash suppressor question
PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:09 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

The "flash suppressor" you have pictured is similar to what Mossberg is offering, the barrel length is still 18.5" WITH the breacher:

Unless you are using it for it's intended purpose, taking down reinforced doors, then they are just for looks.

But, I got to admit, they do look cool.......

Smitty

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:49 am 
Tournament Grade