CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 3:58 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Best way to store shot shells?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 4:57 pm 
Diamond Grade

I assume this has been covered before and I don't want any flames ( :roll: ), but I am wondering how you all safely store you shells. I have been shooting and reloading for many years and used to have a magazine for this purpose but it did not make the last move with us. Just having them sit on a shelf does not seem like the best idea..... Let's see how some of you do it. Thanks.

Post subject: re: Best way to store shot shells?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:03 pm 
Limited Edition

I box them up in used factory ammunition boxes of 25 and store them in a used "flat" container on a area of my work bench until I plan on using them-then transfer them to my ammo bag for the day at the gun club. They are all kept in my basement of my house.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 6:13 pm 
Presentation Grade

I store mine in 25 round boxes.
I keep them in the shop & in the bed room closet.
All are under lock and key in a wooden box of 1" thick
soft wood.
Might be over kill but it make the wife happy.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:18 pm 
Presentation Grade

I keep the pockets of my hunting jacket and vest full and ready.

Some of my shells are thrown into a bucket in the basement.

I have a few bags of various sorts full of a variety of shells.

Sometimes I find them rolling around the floorboard of the truck.

I am sure that none of these are the best way.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:00 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

I purchased a large plastic cabinet from Home Depot years ago.
Loaded ammo on the bottom, powder wads, etc on higher shelves, and a padlock.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:06 pm 
Limited Edition