CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:17 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Skeet cards (Shooting Aids)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:07 am 
Tournament Grade

I know this should probably be in the Skeet section, but thought it might get a little more exposure here. If it needs to be moved then please do so.

I’m looking for “cheat cards” for skeet shooting. Cards have the basics; where to hold, the lead needed, and where to break the bird. I’ve seen them somewhere, but for the life of me can not remember where. Took a new shooter couple times and now he’s hooked, I’m self taught and don’t want to teach him my bad habits, so I’m thinking I can give him the idea of how to shoot a particular station, then let him use the cards/sheet to help him more. Any help is appreciated.

Post subject: re: Skeet cards (Shooting Aids)
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:16 am 
Diamond Grade

Hmmm...never seen or heard of such things. But if there are some somewhere...I wouldn't mind seeing them as well. Hope someone can provide info on this. I think they'd be helpful to pass on to new shooters. However...if I didn't like the content myself though.....I think I'd pass on doing that then. But I would like to see some.

The only thing I've seen along those lines is something I did. A very good article....I thought anyway.....on "how to practice" by Tom Aaron was in the May 2003 Skeet Shooting Review. I made small "cheat cards" and laminated them so they can be easily carried in one's pocket and referred to. Quite useful I think.

I hope someone comes along with what you're looking for here.

By the way.....

Quote:
I’m self taught and don’t want to teach him my bad habits

Who knows.....depending on how you shoot....maybe they're good habits......for you....and might work for him as well. :wink:

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:31 am 
Presentation Grade

Get 4 of those little orange cones, or a stack of clays, or a pile of hulls.