CalendarCalendar   Photos  * FAQ
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 11:43 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: how to determine gun fit?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:23 pm 
Field Grade

Hi folks,

I am new to trap and skeet. have been renting guns to practice with before purchasing.

I have been bitten by the Beretta 687 SPII trap combos that Joel Etchen sells, and am going to go over to his place and check them out.

can someone tell me or direct me to information on how to actually go about fitting a gun? what's the process to ensure you are getting a setup that's right for you? I am 6'6" and about 285 lbs., so I'm a little concerned....

thanks very much!

Last edited by Z06_Pilot on Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: re: how to determine gun fit?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:31 am 
Diamond Grade

Hi Z--

Welcome to Shotgun World. :) I'm impressed that you've taken the time to try out a few shotguns before buying one. It makes the choice alot easier, and since you know what you're going to use it for, you're way ahead of the curve.

Here's a link to our FAQ on shotgun fit, written by Rollin Oswald, who's taken the toruble to figure it all out for the average guy:

http://www.shotgunworld.com/bbs/viewtop ... =stock+fit

You of course are welcome in the new shotgunners forum any time. But we also have forums for trap, skeet, and sporting clays. If you know which game you'll be shooting you might try some posts in those forums.

Best of luck, and I hope you'll come back and let us know how it's going. :)

Jeff

Jeff23
Coalition of Connecticut Sportsmen
National Rifle Association

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:14 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Jeff,

I had forgotten all about that information, written in 2003. Although the basic information remains valid, the number of pages in the book is out of date. The book now has 93 pages.