ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sun Jul 12, 2020 8:26 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 870 wingmaster mods
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 2:27 pm 
Utility Grade

i have an older 20 ga 870 wingmaster with a 26" vented barrel that i think is built on a 12 ga receiver (i can fit a 12 ga shell into the end of the magazine with the cap removed) that i would like to modify. i wanted to replace the barrel with a 18.5" or 20" barrel and add a magazine extension. apparently this is harder than i thought it would be. it seems most 20 ga 18.5" barrels are out of stock. do i need to use a 12 ga magazine extension and will the number of shells in the extension determine the length of the barrel?

thanks for any assistance.

tim

Post subject: Re: 870 wingmaster mods
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:11 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

If your serial # ends in N or X it is built on the 12 gauge sized receiver, and no new barrels have been made for about 40 years. Almost all barrels you see listed will be for the lightweight models - serial number ended in K or U until a few years ago.
A 12 gauge mag extension will fit, but think long and hard before you cut that existing barrel.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 8:26 pm 
Limited Edition

tmag wrote:
i have an older 20 ga 870 wingmaster with a 26" vented barrel that i think is built on a 12 ga receiver (i can fit a 12 ga shell into the end of the magazine with the cap removed) that i would like to modify. i wanted to replace the barrel with a 18.5" or 20" barrel and add a magazine extension. apparently this is harder than i thought it would be. it seems most 20 ga 18.5" barrels are out of stock. do i need to use a 12 ga magazine extension and will the number of shells in the extension determine the length of the barrel?

thanks for any assistance.

tim

Hey Tim let me make a suggestion , look into Aquilas minnie shells , in a standard
magazine you can get 3 or 4 more shells in the tube !