ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:25 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 155 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
 Post subject: Fabarm XLR5 LR - Reliability Test & Journey
PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2015 9:51 pm 
Presentation Grade

Hi guys - New Fabarm XLR5 LR owner. I have a post on the Huglu forum, where I've been logging rounds, issues, experiences, etc. I plan on the same thing with my new XLR5.

I've taken it out a couple of times already and so far the gun is great. I installed the stock spacer the gives 5mm more drop. I really wanted even more drop, so I asked the folks at Fabarm if I could purchase another set of spacers and install a second 5mm drop spacer, but they nixed the idea saying that Italy feels stock damage could result.

New gun pics follow below. This gun has really nice wood, which is one of the main reasons I bought it. I'll be regularly updating the shot count, and I've got some experiences and probably questions I'm sure you guys will have great input on.

First few times out, I shot a variety of loads to see how versatile it is. I shoot sporting clays, and participate in as many NSCA shoots as I can in my area, so I only have target loads. Shot one box @ of the following factory loads: Rio 1oz. 1210 fps, Gun Club 1 1/8 oz. 1145 fps, Herter 1 oz. 1290 fps. I also shot a bunch of my 1 oz. 1160 fps Gun Club reloads (700X, Claybuster CB100-12, Win 209 Primers) - all 7 1/2 shot. Everything cycled thru except one Herters, which could have been operator error :shock: I also learned that the round in the mag tube needs to be seated all the way, or the gun won't shoot at all. Today, all 125 rounds were my reloads - no probs.