ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Tue Oct 27, 2020 1:24 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New XLR5 Velocity Review
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:11 pm 
Utility Grade

Hey Guys,
I have never done a gun review but felt that this may be helpful to some...

I started shooting a couple of years ago. I shoot skeet a couple of times per week. Occasional Trap, Sporting Clays and Wobble but not enough to mention.

I have had several very nice O/Us but never really bonded with them. I shot a friends 1100 and was bitten by the autoloader bug..they just feel more "lively" to me.

I then purchased a Beretta A400 Excel w Kick Off but did not care for it for whatever reason. I also bought a A300 sligthly used from a club member and immediately traded it (kicked the heck out of my shoulder) (really!)

So, I ended up with a older 20ga 1100 and a Competition 1100. I really liked the competition 1100 . After a few fail to cycles in the first several boxes it start to run well and has fairly light recoil...

I had been reading about the Fabarms for a while and held a couple in local stores . I ended up ordering a new XLR5 LR Velocity Black. It came two days ago and I got a chance to shoot it today....FANTASTIC! I was shooting 3 dram 1 1/8 oz 8 shot and there was hardly any recoil at all. A couple of the guys I shoot with even commented on the apparent lack of recoil. I shot a 96 today with the last two rounds being straights... 50 in a row is a personal best for me. Also, out the 100 rounds that I shot I did not have a single Failure to cycle . I'm sold! The gun balances perfectly for me, has super light recoil and a fantastic trigger. This gun also fit me like a glove right out of the case.

If you have been interested in the XLR5 go for it ! I love mine!!!

Post subject: Re: New XLR5 Velocity Review
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:04 pm 
Utility Grade

I now have 500 rounds through it and it just keeps getting better.....