ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Wed Feb 19, 2020 11:37 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Federal hulls
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 2:35 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

What is the best Federal hull for reloading.? I have no experience except I tried some of the pink ones one time with poor results. Also the Federal papers were too much trouble. Thanks for the replies

Post subject: Re: Federal hulls
PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:26 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Federal Gold Medals either ribbed or smooth reload very nicely. The newer style Federal Grand hulls which are white, reload well also, using the same data as the Gold Medal hulls.

There are some complaints that the steel head on the Grand's is harder to resize than the Gold Medal's brass head. I have a MEC 9000H, I don't have any problems resizing the Grand's.

I use either CB2118-12 for 1 1/8 oz. loads. For 1 oz. I use CB2100-12 or CB6100-12 wads. I kinda like the CB6100-12 better than the CB2100-12 wad.

The Top Gun hulls red, burgundy, white, blue or pink all reload fine, but I think they reload better using the CB6100-12 wad, if you are using 1 oz. loads. They crimp better if you set the crimp deeper, like .065" to .070" instead of .055" and put as much of a tapered shoulder as they can stand without crushing.

aka Mr. Tactful.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 4:00 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

The Federal Paper reload very nicely and take picture perfect crimps, but only last for two to three reload till burn through. I still like ‘em

"We pulled the trigger, the safety went forward, both barrels fired almost together, the gun opened, ejectors kicked the fired cases over our shoulder ...the most completely automatic gun we ever fired" Elmer Keith- Shotguns by Keith

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:29 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

dogchaser37 wrote: