ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:01 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Case Reloading Life Expectancy
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 4:09 pm 
Utility Grade

Okay all you reloaders: how often can you reload brass cases for 9mm and .223? I've been reloading both (mostly 9mm) for five years or more and have no idea how many times any particular case has been reloaded. At first I heard it was three reloads then toss, then it was five times, etc, etc. I tried keeping track early on but it became a logistical quagmire-too confusing! I do check my used brass for damage prior to reloading and I shoot only quality ammo when using new store-bought stuff. I've gone through two Lee presses which I replaced with a Dillon 650 and have probably reloaded thousands of 9mm rounds w/o issues. (Well, there is the occasional squib but we're talking one squib out of 300-400 or less.) I do case-gauge my .223 brass occasionally while going through a batch and Super Swage all primer pockets. And what about those nickel/steel (?) cases? Are there resizing issues with them? All my powder loads are close to max allowed by manufacturers' data.Thanks.
v.[b][/b]

Post subject: Re: Case Reloading Life Expectancy
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 6:49 am 
Diamond Grade

Welcome to SGW.
You have asked a pistol/rifle reloading question in a primarily shotgun forum. You could get an answer as some of the members go both ways. If you don't, I seem to remember there being a Pistol World and Rifle World you could try.

Steve

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 7:10 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*