ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Tue Jan 19, 2021 12:57 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Shotgun reloaders
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2020 7:17 pm 
Field Grade

So I have a MEC sizemaster that is basically a old jalopy of a machine.
I figured to rebuild it would cost about 150 using parts from Ballistic Products.
And I am not sure that I would like the result.
So I was looking at MEC 650N presses.
I was looking at Ponsness Warren 375s with a kit for MEC powder bushings
I was looking at a Steelmaster with short kits.

Here are my desires.
12 gauge currently, other gauges possible.
All lengths of shells.
Something that keeps leakage to a minimum.

The thing I dont like about the Steelmaster is that it has that resize station built into it. I dont find resizing very valuable these days. But the short kits get me to the shorter lengths pretty easy.

I used to have a steelmaster which is basically just a long sizemaster.
The other two presses I have never played with or know much about.

Thanks

Post subject: Re: Shotgun reloaders
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2020 7:47 pm 
Crown Grade

Used 600 jr on Ebay?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2020 8:03 pm 
Field Grade

It seems like nobody makes a "perfect" press. The 650 N is looking good though

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2020 8:13 pm 
Tournament Grade

I like my 650n: just a grabber without the resizer.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2021 11:27 am 
Presentation Grade

It really depends on volume, but I shoot about 200 a week and can keep up with that on a few half-hour sessions on a 600 Jr.

I kind of like being more or less forced to check each shell as I go - becomes clear very quickly if something isn't working properly.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2021 11:53 am 
Tournament Grade

All the MEC's from 650n to 9000 are basically the same: just each step adds more features, so that's why I got the 650. I resize and deprime on an old grabber.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2021 3:19 pm 
Crown Grade