ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Wed Oct 28, 2020 1:34 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Trying to choose
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2020 9:31 am 
Utility Grade

I’ve been comparing SAs and reading through the forum for a while and am no closer to coming to a decision. I need help. I’m fairly new to bird hunting and for the last few years have been shooting my dad’s old 1100 and 870 wm. I’m looking for an all-around 12g as I do a mix of ducks and upland. Spec wise, I’m aiming for 3in, 28in barrel, 6lb 9oz-7lb 4oz range, $700-$1200, and most likely gas operated but I’m open to anything. I shoot my buddy’s older model browning a lot and really love it, so I figured I’d splurge and go buy a new A5 but I’m turned off by all the issues people seem to have with them. I’d say my top 3 choices rite now are the A300 Outlander, Maxus, and Franchi Affinity. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Post subject: Re: Trying to choose
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2020 10:17 am 
Crown Grade

Welcome to SGW ! ! {hs#

The new Browning A-5 are built on a different principle than the older, long-recoil A-5's - so it's unlikely your experience will be the same.

You could look around for a NIB/used older Miroku Browning A-5 at a reasonable price of you prefer your friend's A-5

IME, guns for both ducks & upland game usually preform best with different barrels (or choke tubes) - so choose carefully.

Of your choices, the Beretta seems best - although I would choose a Remington 1100/11-87 with an extra barrel.

That goes double, if you liked shooting your dad's Rem 1100.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2020 11:17 am 
Presentation Grade

F&W_Pat wrote:
Spec wise, I’m aiming for 3in, 28in barrel, 6lb 9oz-7lb 4oz range, $700-$1200, and most likely gas operated but I’m open to anything.

I'm not up to speed on modern autoloaders but I think, spec wise, that's going to be a challange.