ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sun Apr 18, 2021 1:27 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Shotgun Help
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:47 pm 
Utility Grade

Hello all, I’m new to Shotguns but not handguns. Have been thinking about getting a shotgun for home defense - primarily the Mossberg 88 Maverick 12 gauge, mostly because it’s Mossberg and also because of the great price point. Scheels here in Nebraska has is for $250. My question is I’m wondering for buckshot- I guess, is the right ammo for the job, I’ve seen different lengths of shotgun shell cartridges and different sizes of 00 buckshot, how do I or will I know if it works and fits properly in the gun? Thanks in advance for all the advice and info.

Bearded BigDave

Post subject: Re: Shotgun Help
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:34 pm 
Field Grade

Welcome Dave. Others with way more knowledge will be along to help you along but I will give you. My two cents.

For home defense, 2-3/4” shells are the most common. 00 buck is probably the most commonly encountered size but any of the buckshot loads work well. When the number goes up, the size of the pellets gets smaller so there are more of them inside the shell. Some people even advocate bird shot for hd since the ranges are short. I also believe over penetration is a concern with bigger pellets so small bird shot lessens that potential.

The Maverick is a good reliable choice. I’m pretty sure those will use mossberg 500 barrels so finding those will be easier than most. I always liked a short (18-1/2”) bbl for hd but a longer one will work if that’s all you have.

Good luck.
John

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:50 pm 
Diamond Grade

the side of the barrel will be marked something like 'for 2-3/4" shells only'.[and maybe with a fixed choke designation]
or something like 'chambered for 2 3/4 or 3'' shells'', which allows you to use either 2 3/4" or 3" shells.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2021 5:23 am 
Presentation Grade