ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sat Dec 05, 2020 9:07 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Newbie question(s) on practicing
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 11:52 am 
Utility Grade

Newbie here with a question(s) on how to practice...

After spending every weekend at the local sporting clay/skeet/trap club for the past 4 to 6 weeks I realize I may need some type of structure on how to approach practice.

Some of what I have noticed is I do not know how to fix those clays that give me the most trouble. My biggest issue seems to be not knowing why I am missing them so, I don't know how to fix it...... too high? behind, in front of, how much lead to give, etc...

Thought process is, if I can understand where I am missing I can better adjust my shooting to start hitting more......

So, do I go back to the stations that I perform well on and practice mounting, looking, swinging, etc...? or, go to the stations giving me trouble and keep trying till I find the sweet spot? Just thinking I do not want to take an approach that will only get me better at a certain station and not better overall.....??

Newbie looking to get better than <60%...... but, still enjoying the heck out of it....

Terry
NE Florida

Post subject: Re: Newbie question(s) on practicing
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 1:31 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Ask around your area who they recommend for lesssons

TSRA LIFE MEMBER
NSCA #610xxx

Rose City Clays - Tyler TX
5H Shooting Sports Frankston TX ( Formally the Chicken Ranch)
Caney Creek- Teague TX

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:27 pm 
Crown Grade

+1 what Jerry said. Finding a good instructor to get you started properly will speed your progress and make for a far less frustrating experience. Enjoy.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:38 pm 
Presentation Grade