ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Tue Oct 27, 2020 9:28 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Reduced and adjustable LOP 12g S/A shotgun for mainly clays
PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2020 11:39 pm 
Utility Grade

Hi All - I'm new to the world of shotguns. I recently shot a round of trap with my son's Boy Scout troop and also took an intro class at a sporting clays course. I enjoyed both quite a bit, so possibly looking into purchasing a shotgun to go more often. I'm not new to shooting sports, as I have handguns as well as a .22 rifle. I do know some folks who hunt, so I may want to try that as well, in the future. But likely at least 95/5 clays/hunting.

I'm 5'3" and weigh 155 pounds - more of an athletic build with 38"/39" jacket and 31" waist. When I measure my estimated LOP based on crook of elbow to first knuckle of my index finger, it's 13.5". I haven't determined my actual needed LOP yet.

Considering the Beretta A300 Synthetic due to the adjustable stock. I shouldered the A400 Parallel Target RL, but couldn't get my eye down the rib, I think due to the comb. I was able to get a clear sight down the standard A400 Xcel w/KO. I like the quality feel of it, but I'm afraid it might be too long even with a thinner pad. I'd rather not do any customization such as stock cutting, so that I could still easily sell if needed.

Are there other 12g S/A that would also have a reduced and adjustable LOP? I see the Remington V3 also has a Compact version, which does have a shorter LOP as well as adjustable spacers, but the barrel is only 22".

Thoughts as to other options to consider? Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Reduced and adjustable LOP 12g S/A shotgun for mainly cl
PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2020 11:37 am 
Field Grade

I think the A300 you mentioned would be a good choice. With the various spacers and different pad thicknesses offered by Beretta (in addition to the availability of shims), you should be able to dial it in to fit you well.