ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Tue Oct 27, 2020 10:46 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Ok So I Have the New Shotgun...What to do First?
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2020 10:42 am 
Field Grade

Since I'm relatively new to shotgunning (but not firearms), I thought I'd ask what's the first thing I should do with it?

Yes I'll clean, inspect and lubricate it but then what? My plan is to get to a range and function fire it but what comes next?

I intend to use it for dove hunting and maybe try my hand at recreational clay shooting.

Thanks.

Post subject: Re: Ok So I Have the New Shotgun...What to do First?
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2020 12:14 pm 
Tournament Grade

I am brand new.

I took my first shotgun to a local skeet range during the week. I had exclusive help of a young "puller".

He walked me through the various skeet stations; shots at each station; and nicely pointed out that I was behind, or in front of, my targets. He mentioned my occasional Stopping the swing that cost me hits.

All in all, it was a great way to get accustomed to my new hobby/sport/gun. I did that same program five or six times until I ran into 8 or 9 oldies. They invited me to join in a round and they were equally kind and helpful. One Perazzi shooter invited me to try his 12 gauge (my new gun was only a 20 gauge and I had never shot a 12 up to that time).

It was a great bunch of guys who I miss since the Virus has kept me away for 5 weeks.

Get out and shoot all that you can. There are tons of videos ( I like Gil Ash) on Youtube that will help you get familiar with the sport.

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2020 12:53 pm 
Field Grade

Sounds like a good time.

So did you pattern check your gun prior to going out with it to the clays range or just jump right in?

Last edited by Redhat on Sun May 03, 2020 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2020 1:43 pm 
Presentation Grade