ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Tue Oct 27, 2020 10:28 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Question on stock fit
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 12:42 pm 
Field Grade

So I took my new shotgun out for it's first trip to the range. Didn't do anything but function fire about 25 rds just to see if it worked.

During that time, I noticed that when I had the butt in my shoulder, I had to move my head downward to get my cheek on the stock. Since my background is rifle shooting, I like to get a tight stock weld with my cheek but from what I've read, that may be incorrect technique for shotguns. Additionally, I've read that the cheek is the reference point since shotguns don't have rear sights and therefore how and where the cheek is placed on the comb of the stock is important. The problem is, when I do that, the butt seems to wind up too high in my shoulder. So, either I get on the comb where I think it looks right and the heel seems to high or I get the butt in the right place and have to put my head down to get the proper placement. LOP seems okay so.

The gun came with shim kit so any suggestions are appreciated.

Post subject: Re: Question on stock fit
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2020 4:05 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

I suspect that you are taller than 6' or have an unusually long neck.

Regardless of the cause, the stock dimension known as the" drop at the heel" is inadequate. This dimension is the distance of the top of the recoil pad or "heel" below the level of the gun's rib.

You are correct in your opinion that your head and neck posture are flawed. The correct posture is a normal one, with your head and neck both in an naturally erect posture.