ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Wed Sep 30, 2020 4:53 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Question about keeping an a300 stored but ready
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 9:25 pm 
Utility Grade

I am a newbie (first fired it today). I have a question about storing the gun and keeping it (nearly) ready for an emergency.

(1) I have been told that I should not store it with the trigger cocked, so I bought a snap cap.

(2) If I put a snapcap in through the breach and load the magazine with 3 live rounds, can I just eject the snap cap and load a round through the ejection post when I am ready to fire or is there some sort of interlocking mechanism or whatever when I eject the snap cap?

(3) If I should not do the above what should I do? I don't want a live round in the chamber while the gun is stored.

Many Thanks,

Post subject: Re: Question about keeping an a300 stored but ready
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:23 am 
Crown Grade

If you eject the snap cap, the first round from the mag will then be chambered and you'll be GTG.

Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience, George Carlin

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:57 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

oneounceload wrote:
If you eject the snap cap, the first round from the mag will then be chambered and you'll be GTG.

That's true ONLY if he drops the hammer on the snap cap. If he doesn't drop the hammer, he could jack the bolt all day and a round won't come out of the magazine.

My suggestion is to forget the snap cap idea completely. You don't need a snap cap with a semi-auto. They're good for nothing except causing problems, and you don't need them anyway.