ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Thu Feb 25, 2021 4:59 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:20 pm 
Field Grade

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:39 pm
Posts: 58
I just bought a brand new Mossberg SA-28.
I first tried my light (1200fps) reloads & no go.
I then loaded up some heavier (1300fps) reloads
and still no go! (Hodgdon Universal powder)
I finally thought to try a couple of the Winchester AA
factory target loads (1200fps) and voila, they cycle
just fine!!
Do I just need to shoot a few rounds of skeet with these
factory AA's to "break in" the gun before it might cycle
reloads?
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Jeff




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2021 7:00 pm 
Crown Grade

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 7:11 am
Posts: 4519
Location: Western Tampa, FL
I would say you have eliminated anything else being the cause but the ammo. I bet as you shoot it more with those factory shells it will become more able to function with your hotter reloads. Maybe try loading to the same specs as the factory load and if possible using their powders? Just a thought but I think your problem will go away in time.

I am sure you have cleaned it and lubed it properly.

Good luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2021 7:10 pm 
Crown Grade
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:20 pm
Posts: 23147
Quote:
I am sure you have cleaned it and lubed it properly.


That was my first thought as well.

_________________
The bitterness of poor quality is remembered long after the sweetness of low price has faded from memory, Aldo Gucci

Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience, George Carlin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2021 7:24 pm 
Diamond Grade
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:02 am
Posts: 1824
My wife's SA28 did the same thing with my 1200fps AA reloads. She did a couple of tournaments with a new AA in the chamber and a reload in the magazine and got thru them okay.

I wound up bumping the load to one for 1250fps (Alliant 20/28) and so far that's worked okay. We were out a couple days ago and she shot about 3 boxes with no issues and that's with maaaaybe 500 rds total thru it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2021 8:34 pm 
Field Grade

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:39 pm
Posts: 58
oneounceload wrote:
Quote:
I am sure you have cleaned it and lubed it properly.


That was my first thought as well.


Yes it's been cleaned & lubed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2021 11:14 pm 
Field Grade

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:39 pm
Posts: 58
Stuck-N-Kali wrote:
My wife's SA28 did the same thing with my 1200fps AA reloads. She did a couple of tournaments with a new AA in the chamber and a reload in the magazine and got thru them okay.

I wound up bumping the load to one for 1250fps (Alliant 20/28) and so far that's worked okay. We were out a couple days ago and she shot about 3 boxes with no issues and that's with maaaaybe 500 rds total thru it.


So I'm going to shoot some skeet with the SA-28 on Wednesday
and try Stuck-N-Kali's wife's trick with the factory load in the
chamber and a reload in the magazine and see if I get the same results.
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 5:46 am 
Presentation Grade

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 1:52 pm
Posts: 639
Are you using the same hull on your reloads? The actual hull head material (steel, brass washed steel, or pure brass), and final shape of the finished load) make an impact on semi-auto reliability just like the actual pressure.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 3:47 pm 
Field Grade

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:39 pm
Posts: 58
Yes, my reloads are Winchester AA's.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 5:54 pm 
Field Grade

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:45 pm
Posts: 66
Are you resizing them?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2021 9:01 am 
Field Grade

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:39 pm
Posts: 58
My reloader is a MEC Sizemaster.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mossberg SA-28 won't cycle reloads?!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2021 5:49 pm 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 4:31 pm
Posts: 2572
Location: Virginia
I had the same problem with my SA-28 not cycling my reloads, though in my case it was 5/8 oz at 1350 fps. I also experienced a tight chamber; shells that would go into my 1100, Citori, and Ruger would stick going into the SA-28. I tightened down the collet on my 9000 to fix that problem. Had to go up to 3/4 oz over 14 gr Unique to generate sufficient gas for cycling. I like this gun but will be using it mostly for hunting with factory ammo due to the above experience.




Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Registered users: 3200, Bing [Bot], cowpoke, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, goosedowner, Hawaiirider, jwr50, rubysue, skeetstar, strut64, Wild Skies


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group    - DMCA Notice