ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Mon Jan 25, 2021 6:46 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Model 12 Identification
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 1:06 pm 
Utility Grade

I'm new to Model 12's and recently acquired a field grade (?) model 12 / 30" barrel and modified choke.

It looks to have been restored at some point.
Newer wood with an incorrect butt plate ?
Serial # 931XXX puts it at 1942 ?
Matching receiver and barrel.

Any insight on this model 12 is much appreciated.

Post subject: Re: Model 12 Identification
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 4:36 pm 
Diamond Grade

Nicely refinished metal. Might have been Simmons. Upgraded replacement wood with replacement buttplate. Seems to have alot of figure in the wrist, but can't say for sure.

Odds are it started life as a field grade. Might make a nice SC gun.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:58 am 
Utility Grade

Thanks for the reply, It looks like it might have been manufactured 9/1941. I was wondering if anyone knows what's the correct butt plate for a 41 field grade and would where would be a good place to get a reproduction of it ?

The current butt plate and screws are the worst thing about the gun.

Thanks, JWH

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2020 11:54 am 
Crown Grade

That gun most likely had a recoil pad on the original stock. CSMC has Winchester reproduction recoil pads and I’m pretty sure they have butt plates too.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2020 5:15 pm 
Diamond Grade

J.W.H. wrote:
The current butt plate and screws are the worst thing about the gun

That plate doesn't look bad to my eye. Again, gun's refinished with aftermarket wood. Installing an original buttplate adds nothing. Might even detract.

JMO, but chasing original condition would be throwing good money after bad.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2020 6:19 pm 
Presentation Grade

No collector value, but a really nice "using" gun.
Take it out and break a bunch of clays.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2020 11:54 pm 
Tournament Grade