ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Mon Jan 25, 2021 7:24 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Winchester Model 50 Trap Gun - Need Some Help, Please
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:30 pm 
Utility Grade

Greetings to the Board,

I just took delivery of a Winchester Model 50 Trap Gun that I ordered from a reputable online seller (blame it on Covid boredom).

I bought this gun as a shooter and it's in beautiful condition, but has one serious issue, one "medium" issue, and maybe a third. The serial number on the barrel (411xx) doesn't match the receiver (613xx). Otherwise the gun looks fine to me - the whole thing is an impressive 98% and there is nothing in the finish that would make you think the barrel was a replacement or mismatched. The 3-pin ventilated rib (rectangular posts) looks correct to me, too - although I'm not an expert and don't really know what to look for. There are no markings (Simmons or otherwise) on the rib.

Secondly, the buttplate is a Pachmayr Old English replacement. The pull dimension is 14-1/4", so I don't think the stock has been cut (hope not, anyway). The buttstock is a little wobbly (not tight up against the receiver), but I've seen step-by-step instructions here for correcting that.

And finally, I have read that these Model 50 Trap Guns had a modification that deflected empties right at the feet of the shooter - so as not to cause any issues with nearby trap shooters. I don't think this gun has that feature, but I don't have a good picture of one to compare. If one of you has (or can take, or point me to) a close-up photo of the deflector, please post it so that I can compare with what I have.

TIA,

Disappointed Tom

Post subject: Re: Winchester Model 50 Trap Gun - Need Some Help, Please
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2020 7:24 pm 
Presentation Grade

Welcome to the club, Tom. Bobski is the real expert, but I'll take a crack at a couple items.