ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sat Nov 28, 2020 9:19 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Help plan a trip
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:54 am 
Field Grade

I am in north Missouri and am planning a trip over Thanksgiving. I am new to upland hunting and do have a dog that I want to get on as many wild birds as possible. Where would my best chances be for pheasant/quail in Kansas, Nebraska, or South Dakota? I will be hunting public land. I appreciate any help

Post subject: Re: Help plan a trip
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:29 pm 
Utility Grade

Check the weather that might help make the decision. Ultimately I think any of the 3 could be really good. Also where would be closer and allow you more hunt time. I’ve only hunted Kansas and Nebraska of those 3 . Highly enjoyed both. If quail are important hunt Kansas or Southern Nebraska

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:42 pm 
Crown Grade

Don't those three also offer CRP/Walk-in hunting on private land?

https://gfp.sd.gov/hunting-areas/

https://ksoutdoors.com/Services/Private ... ss-Program

Might start with those folks for locations

Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience, George Carlin

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:50 pm 
Crown Grade

In a normal year, South Dakota would be tough to find rooms this time of year. They also tended to be very expensive for what you got. I often hunted in that time frame and would book my room in Janurary and even then might have to try a couple of places as the first ones were already full. This year might be different but I suspect the prime areas might still have few vacancies outside the high end and maybe very bottom end of the spectrum.