ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Mon Jan 25, 2021 2:36 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: First time upland hunting
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:59 am 
Presentation Grade

Hello I was invited out to go pheasant hunting this weekend. I have been shooting clays for about 9 years. And have gone goose hunting. Right now I am leaning towards my clay gun a citori cx. My main question is what is the best way to walk the field with it. I am so used to walking with it broken at the club. Would I want to do that in the field until the dog starts to point then load it? Some of the general videos I saw guys with it closed yet pointing up.

Post subject: Re: First time upland hunting
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:26 am 
Tournament Grade

If pushing a row crop field (more than likely what you'll be doing) then I would have the gun loaded, on safe and held barrel high. This is no different than how an auto loader would be carried. I do carry with the action broken open in the field at times but it's usually when walking from one spot to another, not while actively hunting. I wouldn't want to be carrying my action open while pushing a milo field either, too many little particles of crap to get down into the action or hinge.

I'd suggest you take whichever gun you are most comfortable and confident with, keep in mind you'll likely be doing a lot of walking so weight can play a factor. Lastly, the dogs won't go on point if hunting a row crop field, Pheasants tend to run until they can't evade anymore and then they flush so you'll have birds popping up left and right without warning.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:53 pm 
Diamond Grade

Plaines,