ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sun Mar 07, 2021 7:26 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Left eye dominance and station low 8
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2021 11:40 pm 
Tournament Grade

I’m left eye dominant and a right handed shooter. I’ve been shooting skeet for 30 years. I have a piece of tape on the left lens of my shooting glasses. Lately I’ve been missing station 8 low house. I’ve just about come to the conclusion that my left eye is taking over when I’m tracking the target. This didn’t pose a problem when I was really shooting well during the years I was shooting registered targets. Now, in my seventh decade, it’s become an issue.

I used to shoot with my left eye closed but long ago I came to the realization that was a huge disadvantage when shooting high two as I was late seeing the target. It also wreaks havoc with my depth perception.

I think, quite frankly, I can get away with closing my left eye for low 8. I don’t need any peripheral vision for that target and it will keep my left eye from taking over. Wondering if any shooters with an eye dominance problem ever have to deal with this - especially low 8.

BTW, please don’t suggest I learn to shoot left handed. Ain’t gonna happen.

Thanks in advance

Post subject: Re: Left eye dominance and station low 8
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:54 am 
Tournament Grade

I'm left eye dominant, right handed. Had been shooting one eye closed or with tape all my shooting life(since 1967). A few months ago I decided I wanted to try to do something to improve my shooting and I knew that if I could figure out how to shoot 2 eyes open would be the best thing I could do. Did some research and discovered this: https://www.shootsp.co.uk/. I've been shooting both eyes open ever since and will never go back to one eyed.