ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:53 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Which barrel set to tube? Opinions invited.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2021 7:28 am 
Field Grade

My regular skeet/sporting gun is a Krieghoff Model 32. The original barrel set is 28" with fixed skeet chokes. I have a 2nd set - 30" with Briley thinwalls.

The 28" barrels weigh 3lb, 4.6 oz. The 30" set is 3lb, 11.8 oz including 4oz of weights from Skeetman. I have been using the 30" barrels exclusively for several years.

I primarily shoot skeet - all 12 gauge. No registered shoots, but I shoot in a winter league here in CT and enter club competitions. Depending on the weather (we shoot regardless of conditions) I average approx. 98/100.

Lately, recoil has started to wear me down to the point where I'm developing a flinch. I'm switching to a Fabarm XLR5 for 12 gauge shooting, and want to have the Model 32 tubed for subgauges.

Here's the question: which barrel set to tube? I don't want to have either reamed out for a carrier barrel. Appreciate your opinions.

Post subject: Re: Which barrel set to tube? Opinions invited.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2021 7:41 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

If you tube the set with screw ins you will get a set of SKEET chokes made for the tubes. For me, the 2" would not be an issue and I would tube the 28" Barrels, though I love my carrier barrel for my K-80, though I know you said you didn't want to do that.

Bob

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2021 7:52 am 
Tournament Grade

Recently, most skeet shooters are using 30”-32” barrels. But you need to be strong enough to handle a longer/ heavier gun. I would try to borrow a gun to see if you can handle the added weight.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2021 7:59 am 
Limited Edition

Which barrel do you shoot best?

Is your primary motivation for tubes to obtain a gun with less recoil?

Do you reload?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2021 8:19 am 
Field Grade