ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Tue Dec 01, 2020 8:17 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Choking for a new gun
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2020 5:57 pm 
Utility Grade

I am a 78 y.o. casual SC shooter that shoots 2-3x a week. I have a 29.5" Mirage (factory choked with barrels and chokes redone by Ken Eyster) and a 34" TM1 (factory chokes). To treat myself I just bought a new 8#4 oz 33" HTS Lusso with fixed .024/024 chokes. I absolutely love my new gun and while I am still learning am comfortable with how I shoot it. When I bought it I was aware the chokes were tight for my purposes and based on the 400 rounds I have down the tubes in the last 10 days that has been confirmed.

Today I took a trip to the pattern board with the 7/8 ounce 1150 fps Clever RX1 shells I am presently shooting and what I saw really got my attention. The good news is the gun shoots 50/50 where I look; the other news is at 16 yards the pattern is 8-10" in diameter. I was not able to step back to 30 yards because of a very wet field.

My thought is to send the barrels off to Briley for the 5 choke (.010/.015/.015/.020/.025) thinwall package. I shoot SC for fun in FL and MI and while I never will be a serious competitor, I know the higher my scores the more fun I have. I also am going to toy with trap doubles when we go north for the summer. Three questions: 1. Instead of thinwalls should I simply have the fixed chokes opened up to say .015/.020? 2. Will having Briley do this work enhance of reduce the value of this gun? and 3. Any other suggestions for the selection of chokes?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Post subject: Re: Choking for a new gun
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2020 6:39 pm 
Crown Grade