ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Mon Apr 12, 2021 2:47 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: I think I need a pouch.
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:19 am 
Field Grade

Been following the 'I think I need a vest.' thread and saw sera's comment about too hot, and remember seeing that before about vests. Didn't want to hijack that thread so started this one.

I started shooting again after 20+ years so don't have a vest or pouches. I'm just a casual shooter now, mostly skeet, and will do a little trap and SC when the opportunities come up. I'm thinking a pouch or pouches might be a little simpler way to go . . but there are a lot of different style options for pouches. Single box shell carriers, split pouches seem a little bulky, long pouches seem a little long lol, you get where I'm going with this. If you prefer pouches . . what's your preference, and why do you prefer your pouch set-up?

Post subject: Re: I think I need a pouch.
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:38 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

I like the Bob Allen Superior pouch. I like them because they have two compartments in addition to a mesh pocket. When I shoot a 25-round game, such as skeet or 5-stand, I put my shells in the center compartment. Hulls from hits go in the mesh pocket. If there are any misses, those hulls go in the front pocket. At the end of the round, I count the hulls in the "miss" pocket and know my score. This keeps me from getting distracted by my score during the round.

THere seem to be two version of the Bob Allen three-pocket pouch. This one:
https://isportsplus.com/products/bob-allen-superior-shell-pouch-with-belt?gclid=CjwKCAjw6qqDBhB-EiwACBs6x6VU5-Hzrtv8KW-YEbNXq0WbHp8Glax1_0vw4aF1UG6PHMj8WY9HFhoCH-EQAvD_BwE

And this one:
https://dealpodium.com/products/bob-allen-429t-superior-shell-nylon-pouch-with-belt-green-2?gclid=CjwKCAjw6qqDBhB-EiwACBs6x5eCh2Hg-SSx413DxKB3aFrpl0NXZslBPsIxLT_ZIdc-allIqREpoBoCmtsQAvD_BwE