ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Fri Dec 04, 2020 3:01 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: "To cone, or not to cone...."
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 7:03 am 
Field Grade

I have a BT-99 that I've been shooting for three years or so. Not bad, averaging 23's in practice and league with the occassional 25. Last weekend shot 94/100.

As far as I can tell, the gun is stock. Adjustable comb, chokes, etc.

I'm wondering about removing the forcing cone. I have some on my trap team telling me it's the best thing ever, some that are saying it's not a big deal.

So what's the collective thought here? Is it worth the expense to have the forcing cone removed? What could I realistically expect from the gun if I have it done?

I have questions. You have answers.

Thanks!

Michael

Post subject: Re: "To cone, or not to cone...."
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 8:09 am 
Diamond Grade

Do you mean lengthening the forcing cone? If you are getting blotchy patterns, with gaping voids, on paper then lenthening the cone may help. It may be cheaper and simpler to try a different load or ammo to find one that shoots a more even pattern if that's the problem keeping you from a 25.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 8:51 am 
Presentation Grade

Lengthened forciing cones tend to produce better patterns, generally speaking. Don't fall for the ultra long cones of 4-5", though. With modern wads/ammo about a 1.25" one is all that's needed.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 10:50 am 
*Proud to be a*
*Proud to be a*

I've considered lengthening my forcing cones, but never done it. Typically it costs about $70/barrel to have it done. The big question is, will it gain you a bird or two? No one that I've talked to can answer that question. Here's the way my thought process went:

Will it reduce felt recoil? No. Newton's third law tells us that by removing metal from the barrel it will increase recoil slightly, but you won't feel it.