ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:10 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Help for a skeet shooter?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2020 10:21 am 
Tournament Grade

Hello All:

I've been shooting skeet regularly for three decades and have recently taken up trap. To put it simply, I'm struggling. In skeet, I consistently shoot about 96%, but in trap, I'm very inconsistent. My biggest problem is that when I miss a bird, I don't know WHY I missed. I'm looking for some advice or tips or even mental "cues" that I can employ to start shooting the game more consistently. Typically, I'll shoot a 22 or 23 and then on the very next round a 17! It doesn't matter whether its at 16yds or handicap.

When I started skeet years ago, an older gentleman at the range told me to "choose 1," either skeet or trap because: "you won't be good at both." Is that true? I hope not, because I don't want to keep struggling, but I'm not going to give up. I really enjoy both games. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I know its NOT the gun because I bought a "proper" trap single (BT99) that fits me well. So the problem is obviously me. I'm not young anymore (72), so I can't see the shot string which used to be very helpful.

Post subject: Re: Help for a skeet shooter?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2020 10:44 am 
Crown Grade

First, are there target presentations causing the most misses?
Second, you may be moving the gun too much because skeet requires a swing and only the hard angles in trap require a swing of the gun.

Try this. Hold the gun about parallel to the ground. When the target comes up just get the gun to the side of the target in the direction it is headed. Getting there will create all the lead you need in trap. Hold a little off center on three, over the front house corners on 2&4 and a couple of feet outside the house on 1&5.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:06 pm 
Tournament Grade

jmacgreg wrote: