ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Sun Oct 25, 2020 12:42 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Image



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2020 10:18 am 
Utility Grade

Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 7:27 pm
Posts: 15
Anyone out there have a schematic of the Automate? I have an Automate that is blowing fuses. The tube of the fuse is black denoting a short some where. The Automate is not blowing them right a way. I do not have a reloader mounted so that phase in not in play. It is an intermittent problem. Does the motor have a thermal reset on it. If so It would point toward a bad component on the circuit board. Any ideas will be considered.
Thanks



_________________
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."
Edmund Burke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2020 11:10 am 
Diamond Grade
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:51 pm
Posts: 1647
Location: S.E. Wisconsin
sportclayslayer1 wrote:
. The tube of the fuse is black denoting a short some where.


Or arcing from poor contact in the fuse holder causing high amp draw.

sportclayslayer1 wrote:
. Does the motor have a thermal reset on it.


Neither the ATS or MEC units have a reset.

Steve

_________________
The More Times You Pull The Trigger The More Fun You Are Having.
I repair MEC presses. PM me.
Used to be Steve Y


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 2:44 pm 
Presentation Grade
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:30 am
Posts: 656
Location: Massachusetts
What fuse are you running?

It may be as simple as the wrong fuse.

You should be running a BUSS AGHC-1.0

I think some time back Mec was shipping them with a fast acting .75 amp which proved to be problematic. Changing out to the one listed above solved the problem for many.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 9:31 am 
Utility Grade

Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 7:27 pm
Posts: 15
I am running the recommended fuse. It is an AGC 2A at 250 volts fast acting. That is the info given on the tag by the male receptacle along with the other info. I am thinking it is time to get the motor on the growler looking for shorted windings. The circuit board being solid state would usually be good or bad all the time. That is my thinking now as long as no schematic seems to be available.
Thanks for the input, it all helps to make sure I am heading in the correct direction.

_________________
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."
Edmund Burke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 9:57 am 
Diamond Grade
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:51 pm
Posts: 1647
Location: S.E. Wisconsin
sportclayslayer1 wrote:
That is my thinking now as long as no schematic seems to be available.
.


Is it a MEC unit? Have you called MEC looking for one?

Steve

_________________
The More Times You Pull The Trigger The More Fun You Are Having.
I repair MEC presses. PM me.
Used to be Steve Y


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 12:00 pm 
Crown Grade

Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:49 am
Posts: 5417
Location: Southwest Georgia, USA
Step 3:
Remove fuse from fuse holder and replace
with a fuse that matches factory specifications.
Fuse Glass 2A 250VAC 3AB 3AG
NOTE: Lesser quality fuses may blow at
lower than rated value. If you can not
locate fuses that meet these specs, contact
MEC Outdoors for replacement fuses.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 12:46 pm 
Diamond Grade
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:51 pm
Posts: 1647
Location: S.E. Wisconsin
I find it interesting that the recommended fuse is now a 2 amp. My ATS unit has been on a 1 amp fuse since I bought it.

Steve

_________________
The More Times You Pull The Trigger The More Fun You Are Having.
I repair MEC presses. PM me.
Used to be Steve Y


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 7:19 pm 
Utility Grade

Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 7:27 pm
Posts: 15
I gave in and took it to MEC today after the motor checked out. It was the circuit board. They replaced it and it has been working fine. My unit is 4 years old and they gave me two fuses as type called for. They are 3AG 2.00A 250 Volt fast acting. Machine rating is 115 Volts 60 hertz 2amp. Now here is the good part and a BIG thanks to MEC. They warrantied the board and I got all at no cost including labor. You can't get much better service than that.

_________________
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."
Edmund Burke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 9:54 pm 
Field Grade

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:00 am
Posts: 48
YevetS wrote:
I find it interesting that the recommended fuse is now a 2 amp. My ATS unit has been on a 1 amp fuse since I bought it.


Same here, bought new less than a year ago.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Automate schematic
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 9:54 am 
Utility Grade

Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 7:27 pm
Posts: 15
You guys had me checking a couple of times to make sure I was O.K. It is 2.00 Amps with a 3AG 2.00Amp 250Volt fuse. All numbers off the label by the power cord. I have model number of machine of 1009150. I looked on MEC's web site and see that the model number for the Automate is 1009130. I even checked their owners manual:
Remove fuse from fuse holder and replace with a fuse that matches factory specifications.
Fuse Glass 2A 250VAC 3AB 3AG
NOTE: Lesser quality fuses may blow at lower than rated value. If you can not locate fuses that meet these specs, contact MEC Outdoors for replacement fuses.



_________________
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."
Edmund Burke


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Boch0627, elpato, EricB, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Hal4son, Irish Red & White, orys, Pettifogger1, Shooting Dave, T-Pee, The Happy Kaboomer


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group    - DMCA Notice