ShotGunWorld Shotguns

It is currently Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:51 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 828 U - A Long Review after about 2000rds!
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 11:53 pm 
Utility Grade

OK Folks! Anyone out there using the 828U yet?
I've been shooting it for about 2 months now +/-.
Have gained a dirth of experience with it, but I also have some questions for other 828U shooters.

1.) If you shoot clays, I'd recommend taking out the clip which auto-arms the safety. That was an annoying feature for me, but good if you have youngsters, are hunter-only or are completely new to firearms. It is easy to remove the bar when you drop the trigger group... Instructions are in the manual.

2.) Recoil: If you shoot heavier loads, be ready for a full frontal assault on your shoulder joint. (JK, Maybe that language is too harsh... :roll: ). Proper shim fit will minimize 828U recoil, but a 12ga shotgun weighing just 6.5 lbs with no gas or piston ops to steal pressure?, Well... let's just say it doesn't resist inertia well. Not the 828U's fault. Blame Sir Isaac Newton... The light weight brings some huge advantages though. For example, 828U points and swings faster and easier than any shotgun I have EVER fired and It patterns very well.

3.) Surprisingly Good Trap Gun!: Though I think 828U was designed as a field gun, with the IC **** choke in the lower barrel and Kent 7/8oz steel loads, I broke my first ever 25 straight (at 16 yds) after only 6 previous rounds with it. (28" barrels). The 828U points and fires so smoothly and quickly, it may embarass your Kohler and custom 34" BT-99 wielding Trap buddies. :P.