Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to shotgunning, and I've just purchased an 11-87. I've taken in out twice so far; once for dove, once skeet at a friend's house. I fired about 30 shells both times. While cleaning the stainless magazine tube after the second time (also cleaned after the first) I noticed a black splotch about the size of a quarter below the rubber seal. It looks almost like a burn and it wouldn't come off with hoppes #9 or gun oil. Should this be cause for concern? Does it mean that the gun is not functioning properly in some way? Answers/Comments. Thanks

·
Registered
155 Posts
The same thing happens to mine and I think to everyone. I use a small stainless wire brush and Hoppe's #9, and it cleans
up good. I clean mine about every 6 boxes of shells.If you don't keep it clean, the gun will not work properly. Have seen some suggestions on this forum to keep the tube well oiled; but I keep mine dry.

·
Premium Member
20,443 Posts
I might be wrong, but I don't think the magazine tube on an 1187 is stainless steel. I think it's an aluminum alloy.

Anyway, I wouldn't worry about a spot on the magazine tube. No, I don't think it means there is anything wrong with the gun. From your description, this sounds like where the gas ports send gas back into the cylinder to push the piston back on the tube. I would imagine that the gas temperature is 1000 degrees or hotter (just a guess) so it's not surprising that the tube would get a bit scorched in that area.

I like to use Breakfree CLP to keep the magazine tube well lubricated. It also makes cleanup easier since the carbon just wipes right off.

·
Registered
300 Posts
Been shooting mine a lot at the skeet range.Use Hopps #9 and a small bronze wirebrush.Get the bronze wirebrush in 3 packs from Home Depot.And there is only one lube that will work.And that is Tri-Flow.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·