Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I plan on buying a shotgun next month. While I'm not unfamiliar with handguns or rifles, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to shotguns so I'm looking for some advice.

I want to get a shotgun primarily for home defense. However, when I told a friend at work that I was going to get a shotgun, he invited me to go deer hunting with him this season. I've never been hunting before, but would love to try it out.

Now, being primarily for home defense, I would really prefer that my shotgun have an 18" barrel. My friend insists that I buy a gun with a 20" deer barrel with rifle sights. I know it's only 2", but if you saw how small my apartment is, you'd understand why I want my barrel to be as short as possible.

My question is this: Is an 18" open choke barrel with a bead sight good for hunting deer in a wooded area?

While on the subject of shopping for a shotgun, any advice on what to look for? My friend insists on a Remington 870 with a 28"/20" barrel combo for $337. I am considering a Maverick 88 with a 28" barrel that I saw for $160. I could buy an 18" barrel for it and still be under $250. I would also have a longer barrel as my friend wants to give me an introduction to small game hunting and perhaps turkey in the spring.

Any experience with the Maverick? How durable is it with years of shooting (perhaps it's not worth it's low price in the long run)? Is it hard on the shoulder when shooting 2 3/4" slugs and buckshot?

I'm not set in a decision. I haven't held the Maverick, so, who knows, I might put it to my shoulder and feel it's not for me. Any favorite suggestions? Keep in mind that I'd like to keep it below $300 and would definately consider buying used.

Thanks a lot for your time reading this long post and for your consideration :D

·
Registered
1,207 Posts