Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I been told that the 2.75" slug have problems and act a bit erratic when shot out of a 3.5" chamber (according to Lightfield), but what about shells? Am I giving up anything when I shoot 2.75" shells out of a 3.5" chamber compared to a 3" chamber? Especially in term of pattern? My guess is no, but I am a newbie at shotgun so please help.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I can see why 2.75" shell will not be the optimal performer out of the 3.5" chamber. I just want a shotgun for small game, so I think I will stick to 2.75" shells but who still make 2.75" chamber barrels. It looks like all the factory made guns come with 3" chamber barrels? Any suggestions out there? looking for a pump, thanks

·
Registered
4,572 Posts
casio02478 said:
I can see why 2.75" shell will not be the optimal performer out of the 3.5" chamber. I just want a shotgun for small game, so I think I will stick to 2.75" shells but who still make 2.75" chamber barrels. It looks like all the factory made guns come with 3" chamber barrels? Any suggestions out there? looking for a pump, thanks
:idea: I wouldn't worry a whole lot about shooting slugs out of a 3" chamber shotgun because that's what most folks do. Just try different ammo to see which brand will the most accurate in your gun.
:arrow: As for which? Well a Remington 870 naturally! :lol:

·
Registered
4 Posts
I have a Benelli Super Blackeagle, a 3.5" gun.

I've patterned it with all lengths of shells & unless you take the time to count the individual pellet holes and figure up your exact percentages you'd not realize the difference is there. Very minimal though it is there, at least with steel shot loadings. I don't see it with 2.75 or 3" lead loadings, in fact the shorter shells usually pattern better, though this is due to greater setback forces acting on the longer shot column with lead loadings.

As to slug shooting performance.