Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I have been loading 410 skeet loads for 25 years so not a nubbbie. However I've only used AA hulls, Claybuster AA HS clone wads. Recently came into thousands of Rem hulls. 1200 fps load with Lilgun (all I've got currently) has a stack heights issue. Obviously the rem hull has a larger hull volume. The finished she'll has a dished crimp that results in leakers. Not really interested in adjusting the tool head at this time as the AA hulls are great. My question, is there a little taller 410 wad that would fill out the stack height a little more. My shot drop is a little over a 1/2oz but under the max shot load.

·
Super Moderator
7,931 Posts
Not to my knowledge, as none of the 410 wads have legs for a crush zone.
Steve

·
Registered
194 Posts
Lil Gun is not a good choice of powder in those hulls to begin with. Switch to H110 or 296, it'll take care of your volume issue and your hulls will last much longer. Also factory 410 target loads have about 225gr of shot, so you might try getting as close to that as you can.

·
Registered
141 Posts
You cannot switch between the Winchester HS and Remington STS .410 hulls without making a few loader adjustments.

This is irrespective of what powder and wads you are using.

The HS hull is shorter than the STS hull and the pre-crimp station will close an STS hull too much to get a good crimp.

Also, the crimp itself may be too deep and there might be too much taper at the final station, causing the hull to buckle and crush.

It doesn't take much to make the adjustments and then write down what you changed so you can easily reverse when moving back to loading HS hull.

·
Registered
194 Posts
I agree. You can also add Alliant 300MP to that list of powders and get even more hull life due to lower chamber pressures.