Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
565 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been looking for a 20ga/28ga combo set to cover quail shooting and some clays. Had liked a Franchi Veloce best, but now have found a 686 (or 686S?) that just seems to fit me better. Also more expensive, however.

I like the store, smallish with very helpful people and they seem very honest. I can get the combo gun for $2395. Don't really want to shop around too much, but otherwise don't know how to judge if this is a good deal.

Not big on the glossy wood, but this is my first gun and I'm more focussed on function and value at this point. I've been shooting borrowed RRL 20's and 28's for a couple of years.

Would appreciate all comments, besides just on the price. This has been a great website for a novice to learn. Thanks!

·
Registered
4,117 Posts
Price doesn't sound too bad to me, if it is in pretty good shape. If new, it sounds like a great price. Berettas are well known and loved, and should last longer than the alloy framed Veloce.

Are you planning on shooting the 28 in a class that won't allow 20 gauge? If not, I don't quite see what is to be gained with the 28 gauge barrels. A 20 will do anything the 28 will do, including shoot 3/4 oz loads, if you reload. If you shoot a 28 gauge much, you'll need to reload anyway unless you are rich. If you are looking to save weight by carrying a 28 instead of a 20, you won't do it this way. The 28 gauge barrels may actually be heavier than the 20's in order to fit the same frame, but I doubt they would be enough heavier to cut recoil or smooth your swing significantly.

G

·
28 gauge barrels on a 20 gauge Beretta frame are indeed heavier than 20 gauge barrel/frame. With 28" barrels the 28 gauge weighs about 6#'s 4oz. the 20 gauge about 2 oz lighter. Beretta does make a scaled 28 gauge frame but it is not that much lighter, around 6#'s. -Dick

·
Registered
9,163 Posts