Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is your preference, what patterns best and what gives you the best breaks. I completely understand that if you do your part behind the gun, the target will break, but i'm looking to get my loads as "dialled in" as possible.
I was told when i was a junior that 8.5 carried higher antimony levels, therefore better energy at impact but not being an expert I'd really value your input.
I only reload 20 & 28 gauge, and shoot the 20 in the 12 gauge.... for .410 i simply buy factory winchester AA because i only ever shoot tournament with them.

Thanks all!

·
Registered
146 Posts
Good Evening,

My unscientific preference is for #8.5.

My reasoning is that I sometimes shoot in my back yard and missed birds land on grass and don't break upon landing. In the past, when I shot #9's I would find birds with 3 or 4 holes in them, but unbroken. They could often stand the stress of being re-launched from a hand thrower. Now that I only shot #8.5 (or commercial #8 if my friends are borrowing a shotgun) I only find "missed" birds with 1 or occasionally 2 holes. My conclusion is that 3 hits with #8 or 8.5 will break the bird while 3 hits with #9 may not.
My sample size is small and there are a lot of other variables I'm not accounting for but since it is just as easy for me to buy #8.5 vs. #9 I buy what I believe will break the bird. I also believe the confidence this gives me is a more important factor than any real difference in hitting power of the shot.
Others may disagree but I thought I'd share my observation.

Dan

·
Registered
308 Posts