Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a college student on a budget who's looking at getting his first shotgun (too far from home to use the family's A-5). I like to feel (and pricetag) of a pump more than an autoloader, and my shooting is mainly sporting clays with some pheasant hunting in the winter. So far, I've narrowed my search to the Remington 870, Mossberg 500, Browning BPS, and Benelli Nova. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
985 Posts
GO TO A GUN SHOW!!!You can buy good used pumps for under $150 at a gun show. I bought an auto for $100 and I use it for pheasent and clays, it is my primary shooter. Go check out a show you might be supprised at what you find. Let the dog hunt the birds, ... you hunt the dog.

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
See my reply in the General Forum.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Barnard,If you're going to purchase a Remington 870, do yourself a huge favor and get the Wingmaster and NOT the Express.The Mossberg 500 is a good utility shotgun that will serve you for many years, despite it's looks, rattling forearm, etc.The BPS is a good shotgun, but the tend to be on the pricey side.The Benelli Nova is $350 at most gun shops. It has more features than most other brands and has less maintenance due to the synthetic stocks and camo finish. However, since I own one I tend to favor it. :D I've owned the 870 Express Super Mag and Mossberg 835 and wasn't as impressed with them as I have been with my Benelli Nova.Good luck with your choices!Good hunting, Bowhunter57

·
Registered
7 Posts