Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! First post, and I'm a bit of a lurker here, and decided to seek some opinions. I fairly recently bought a new, custom built 870 tactical, and put about 200 rounds through it so far. She fires great! I broke it down the other day for a thorough cleaning and noticed a groove worn in the receiver in front of the ejector port. I was told that this is a "character mark" and it was caused by me torquing on the pump. I'm new to shotguns and was wondering what other takes are. I trust my builder, but has anyone else has seen anything like this before? I couldn't find any info about shotgun character marks on the interwebs... I was told that it's ok, and to clean it off, and cover it with some paint and to focus on pumping the action straight back. Here's some pics:

I do like this weapon a lot, but this has me a bit unnerved.

Thanks!

·
Registered
14,694 Posts
Where that is, it looks to me like your extractor is protruding and hitting the receiver. I notice my 1976 Wingmaster does not have it, and I don't recall any of my other 5 having it either.

·
Registered
737 Posts
I just looked at a few in my safe. 2 that I looked at do not have anything like that. Three have some marking there, though perhaps not quite as pronounced as yours. Two others seem to have been milled there by Remington to prevent that from happening (I did not take them apart to really look close) I think that Virginian is right in that it is the extractor is hitting the receiver. I do not think that how you are pumping has anything to do with it.

·
Registered
4,571 Posts
The two action bars on a 870 should/will prevent the bolt from "twisting" when pumped, that's why Remington uses two rather then just one.
Your ejector is the problem and I would have it fixed if it were me.
My 35 year old Wingmaster 870 does not have the problem, nor any other 870 I can remember of. :mrgreen:

·
Registered
12,637 Posts