Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll start with some history, I started shooting skeet about 15 years ago with a used Ithaca M900 recoiling auto loader. This gun apparently FIT me very good, because I did very well with it. I got out of shooting because we moved to the city. I've told you all this because I figure the more you all know about what I learned shooting with and was good with might help with opinions on a new auto loader. All the guns I've looked at I have not and most likely will not be able to shoot, so I'm going to buy on feel alone. I've looked at the Beretta 391, Beneli Montefeltro, Remington 1100, and the Franchi 48al. They all feel very good to me. I'll be shooting mostly skeet,trap and if I can find a sporting clays range in my area that to. And maybe some doves. I would like to stay under $1000 and believe it will be possible with all of the options. Now that you know what I used to shoot and what I will be doing. what are yall's opinions on these guns and what one will fet my purpose best. I'm also concerned with the light weight of all but the remington, is more weight better for a target gun. Thanks

·
Registered
234 Posts
The only advice I can give is buy what fits YOU the best. Those are all good choices. Check out the Browning Gold/Silver or Winchester SX2 or SX3. I believe you could get those under $1,000.00 easily. My second vote would be the Beretta 391.

·
Registered
1,666 Posts
Irishhig said:
I've looked at the Beretta 391, Beneli Montefeltro, Remington 1100, and the Franchi 48al.
Two of the three Italian guns (the 391 and Monte) offer an adjustable buttstock, which is a plus if a typical off-the-shelf shotgun doesn't fit you well. (And the 48 AL is only offered in 20 and 28 gauge, right?)