Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I'm new to SGW, and had a couple of questions regarding the performance of the Baretta AL391 Urika or Rem 11-87 in cold weather (-10 F to approx. 30 F above here in Alaska). I am an avid hunter and want to get a shotgun for ptarmigan, grouse (currently use my .22), and eventually pheasant. Any overall opinions on these two guns are appreciated.

·
Registered
6,146 Posts
Well: I have the Beretta 391; A Co-Worker has a 11-87. His cleaning habits are not the same as mine. We are in Texas so temps will be different too. Although it is 18 this AM.
My 391 functions better than his 11-87 (cycles).
Dirty, lack of lubrication, heavy oil/lube???
Even in Sept @ Dove hunts my 391 cycles better :wink:
Not much help :oops:

Randy

·
Banned
473 Posts
They should both work in cold weather if they are clean and not overly lubricated. No autos in extremely cold weather are reliable when they get wet. I've shot ducks more than once in 10 degree weather with snow and sleet. After an hour, the only repeater in the blind was my 870.

I think if I were going to buy a bird gun for Alaska, it might be something like a 20ga Ruger stainless O/U.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Regarding the 20ga O/U, I was leaning towards the semi-auto 12ga because I'd like to also get into sporting clays as well. Kind of a jack-of-all-trades gun, though I know there are compromises when going that route. I've been researching 12 gauges on this list for a few evenings now and the consesus seems to be strong towards the AL391 auto.

Rick

·
Banned
2,771 Posts
aknitesky said: