Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to sporting clays (a few months) and purchased a Yildz 12 ga. to see if I'd like the sport...I LIKE IT.

Today I purchased a used Browning O/U 20ga with XXXXXPT636 serial number. The sides of the silver receiver have 2 birds (assume grouse) in flight inside intricate floral scroll work (the mating surface on the barrel is also engraved). The receiver is engraved top/bottom/sides, as is the bottom of the trigger guard.

The barrel says special steel 20 ga. 2 3/4 and 3" 26" and is made in China (I have been properly corrected below...it says Japan). It appears to have never been fired.

What year/model do I have? 1986 for the year?

·
Registered
7,201 Posts
Maybe you're getting your Asian countries mixed up.

Did it say Made in Japan?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Just bumping this one.

The Browning web site is very confusing. I've tried to find another gun like it on the web and the only thing that looks close is a grade V Citori Field...but I don't think the one I bought is a grade V...but the engraving does look very "similar."

I paid $995: it came with 3 invector chokes and a Browning case. After getting it home and upon extremely close examination, I can state emphatically that it has never been fired. Whoever owned it must have had it crammed in a safe, because the wood is scuffed and dented in a few spots, but the metal is 99.9%. So I think I made a decent buy...but until I find out exactly what I have...no way to know for sure.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
zzbobw...to 1998 all citori model designator codes end in "3". Recheck your "engine number" and make sure it really ends in 636